(Defenders of the Faith: A Guidebook to Clerics and Paladins variant, p. 74)

Warpriests are fierce, earthy clerics who pray for peace but prepare for war.


Base Attack Bonus: +5

Skills: Diplomacy 5 ranks , Sense Motive 5 ranks

Feats: Combat Casting , Leadership

Spells: Access to at least one of these domains: Destruction, Protection, Strength, War. A character who can cast at least one spell from a domain counts as having access for this purpose.

Special: Ability to channel positive or negative energy.

Hit die


Skill points

2 + Int

Class Features

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Warpriests have proficiency with all simple and martial weapons, with all types of armor, and all shields.

Spells: A warpriest casts spells as a cleric (see Table 3—6: The Cleric, page 30 of the Player's Handbook) and has full access to the general cleric spell list. Warpriest levels are added to cleric levels to determine spells per day and spell effects.

Spells per Day: A warpriest continues advancing in divine spellcasting ability. When a warpriest gains a new even-numbered level, the character gains new divine spells per day as if he had also gained a level in whatever divine spellcasting class he belonged to before he added the prestige class. He does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained (improved chance of controlling or rebuking undead, more frequent remove disease, and so on).

For example, an 8th-level cleric/2nd-level warpriest gains divine spells per day as if he had risen to 9th level as a cleric. When he next gains a level as a warpriest, making him an 8th-level cleric/3rd-level warpriest, his number of divine spells per day does not change; but when he improves his warpriest level to 4th, he gains divine spells per day as if he had risen to 10th level as a cleric.

If a character had more than one divine spellcasting class before he became a warpriest, the player must decide which class to assign each even-numbered level of warpriest for the purpose of determining divine spells per day.

Prestige Domain: A warpriest gains access to the prestige domain of Glory (if he channels positive energy) or Domination (if he channels negative energy).

Turn or Rebuke Undead (Su): Levels of warpriest count toward cleric or paladin levels when turning or rebuking undead.

Rally (Ex): A warpriest who currently is not suffering from a fear effect can use this ability as a standard action. Allies within 60 feet who are suffering from any fear effect and who can hear the warpriest are allowed an immediate Will saving throw at the DC of the fear effect, with a +1 morale bonus per warpriest level.

Inflame (Ex): By giving a stirring speech for at least 5 minutes prior to battle, the warpriest provides those who listen a morale bonus on saving throws against any charm or fear effect. The bonus begins at +2 for a 2nd-level warpriest and increases by +2 at each even-numbered level thereafter (+4 at 4th level, +6 at 6th level, and so on). This effect lasts for 5 minutes after the speech ends, plus 1 minute per level of the warpriest. The warpriest also gains the bonus.

Healing Circle (Sp): Once per day, the warpriest may use healing circle (as the spell).

Heroes' Feast (Sp): Once per day, the warpriest may use heroes' feast (as the spell).

Fear Aura (Su): Once per day the warpriest can project a fear aura to a radius of 20 feet for 1 round per warpriest level. Foes must make a Will save (DC 10 + warpriest level + Cha bonus) or be affected as if by a fear spell.

Mass Haste (Sp): Once per day, the warpriest can use mass haste (as the spell).

Mass Healing (Sp): Once per day, the warpriest can use mass healing (as the spell).

Implacable Foe (Sp): At 10th level, the warpriest can channel enough positive energy to allies within a 100- foot radius that they will continue to fight even after suffering mortal wounds. Using this ability is a move-equivalent action and requires concentration. While in use, allies within the radius who take enough damage to become disabled or dying ignore the effects of that damage and continue fighting. Death occurs instantly at —20 hit points. When the ability ends, either because the warpriest stops concentrating, fails a Concentration check, or becomes disabled or worse, then the full effects of all damage take effect immediately.

Multiclass Note: Warpriest characters who gain levels outside the warpriest class must make an act of atonement (see the atonement spell description, page 176 of the Player's Handbook) before they can gain further levels as a warpriest.


Class skills

Skill name Key ability Trained only Armor check penalty
Concentration CON no no
Craft INT no no
Diplomacy CHA no no
Handle Animal CHA yes no
Knowledge (War) INT yes no
Ride DEX no no
Sense Motive WIS no no
Spellcraft INT yes no
Swim STR no yes

Also appears in

  1. Complete Divine

Spells for Warpriest